119th Boston Marathon

[ News Board ] [ Home ] [ Printable PDF ]

Posted by Ying Chang on April 30, 2015 at 20:54:55:

Boston Marathon, is organized by Boston Athletic Association¡ªbaa.org, and primarily sponsored by John Hancock Financial Services since 1897. Boston Marathon is a worldwide oldest road major racing. This year, limited 30,000 official participants over 60,000 runners from over 72 countries will run the 119th. Awards are towards to top 15 women and men finishers with 1st place $150,000, top 5 masters 1st $10,000 and top 10 wheelchair 1st $20,000. This year total prize is $830,500 with additional olive wreath, medal and champions trophies. In addition, the race brings 181.7 million for Boston economy.

Race start: 8:50am Mobility impaired at Hopkinton Start Line, 9:17am Push-rim wheelchair, 9:22am Handcycle, 9:32am Elite Women¡¯s, 10am Elite Men¡¯s and wave 1, 10:25am Wave 2, 10:50am Wave 3, 11:15am Wave 4, 11:56am Women¡¯s Open Division expected finish time, 12:08pm Men¡¯s Open Division expected finish time.

26.2 miles course starts Hopkinton, via Ashland, Framingham, Natick, Wellesley (way of 1/2), then, Newton (Heartbreak), Brookline, to Boylston St Copley Sq Finish Line.

Thousands of eyes and feet have been earlier touching on the finish line this year, associated with second annual memorial for Marathon bombing survivors, and victims of Martin W. Richard, Krystle M. Campbell, Lingzi Lu and MIT police officer Sean A. Collier.

April 20 2015 Patriots Day, here 7:50am with high 52¡¯f low 43¡¯f, is cloudy cool no rain for runners.

Around 10:44am:, Men¡¯s push rim wheelchair, Marcel Hug 29 yrs Switzerland first ran over the finish line with 1:29:53. Ernst Van Dyk, 42 years of RSASouth Africa came second.

Followed by first place Woman¡¯s push rim wheelchair is US defending champion Tatyana MacFadden, 25yrs from Clarkville MD, her record is 1:52:54 and last year was1:35:06.

Around 11:50am, light windy pushed down a bit rain, Women¡¯s first flush finish line is Caroline Rotich 30 yrs of Nyahururu Kenya with 2:24:55, Mare Dibaba 25yrs and Buzunesh Deba 21 yrs both from Eth came second and 3rd.

Just over 12:00noon: Men¡¯s Lelisa Desisa 25 yrs from Ambo Eth second time won the title with 2:09:17. Last year champion Us Meb Keflezighi 39 yrs finish 8th and another US Dathan Ritzenhein 32 yrs finish 7th.

Huge lined-up crowed are cheerful for all runners who have been making Marathon and Boston strong.

After 2pm till 5pm, waves of runner were gradually arriving Boylston street, they were supported or assisted by audient relatives, media, police officers, medicalEMS or congratulate from mayors and BAAofficers .

View life photos of Marathon winners please online at www.cnasa.org

Next events will be:
2016 April 18 Monday 120th